Skip to main content
Skip header

The Department of Mechanical Technology is a part of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering VŠB - Technical University of Ostrava. The department is divided according to the scientific-research intentions and the teaching activities into four institutes:

  • Institute of Metal Forming

  • Institute of Welding

  • Institute of Engineering Materials and Surface Treatment

  • Institute of Design, Management and Economics of Mechanical Production

The Department of Mechanical Technology is a specialized department study branch of “Engineering Technology” in a bachelor and follow-up masters study programme and the study branch “Industrial Engineering” in the bachelor study programme. It provides the teaching of subjects according to the skills of the above- mentioned institutions. In addition to this, it provides teaching in technological subjects in the bachelor study programme “Engineering” and in “Air Transport Technology”. The Department shares a lot in the teaching of the doctoral study programme “Mechanical Engineering” in the study branch “Engineering Technology” The Department has also significantly shown itself inscientific-research activities.