Skip to main content
Skip header

The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering was founded in 1950 at Brušperk as Mechanical University. After one year of existence it was affiliated to the Mining University in Ostrava as the Faculty of Mining Engineering, focused mainly on machinery and equipment for mining and metallurgical industry. Since that time the Faculty has gone through the profound changes brought by the development of industrial production and social needs. Most significant changes resulted from the political and economical situation after the year 1989, especially from the restructuring of the industry in Northern Moravia. Basic changes in the study programmes and tutorial work have been done and new courses have been introduced.

At present the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering is a modern university institution which offers a wide range of qualifications through undergraduate, postgraduate, professional and research programmes - from foundation degrees to PhD awards. The three level organisation of higher education at the Faculty fits well to the Bologna Declaration and enables to follow a world-wide strategy - to increase access to higher education using the diversified abilities of students in relevant age groups.

There are accredited three-year Bachelor’s degree courses followed with two-year Master’s degree courses in Mechanical Engineering. Completion of the bachelor’s degree programme is the obligatory condition for admission to master’s degree programme. Successful graduates can choose also one of Doctoral degree courses. All courses are provided both as the full-time and part time for more than 2000 students. There is a strong emphasis on computer technology, computer-based design and the application of information technology in engineering. This is supported by the laboratory facilities, the computer centre and university library.

The credit system compatible with the European Credit Transfer System has been fully introduced at the Faculty, which enables the mobility of students not only in the Czech Republic but also within the European countries. Students can take advantage of the Faculty network of exchange agreements with other European universities and develop their language skills and experience in another European university. Mobility of students is organised within the framework of EU projects (especially Erasmus+ and Ceepus).

The Faculty supports a wide range of fundamental and applied research and has an increasing number of active links with industry. The scientific-research activities reflect the breadth of interest and experience amongst the academic staff. Thanks to their good reputation in the technical community, the faculty has acquired many research projects from Czech and European grant agencies and also take part in international projects.

Faculty Management

Dean's Collegium


Upcoming events